Board Members

Collectively, the Foundation’s Trustees have a long track record of impacting education reform and community development in Lafayette Parish. The Foundation’s impressive Board of Trustees are:

  • Dr. Mary Louella Riggs-Cook – Board President
    Mary Louella Riggs-Cook, Ed.D., is the Foundation’s President.  Dr. Cook serves as a Transitional Coordinator with the Lafayette County Sheriff’s Office and the owner of Lo’s Boutique, an upscale clothing boutique in North Lafayette.  She is a passionate educator and has served the Lafayette community in many educational capacities ranging from classroom teacher to administrator at Lafayette Parish Public School System for over 34 years.
  • Carlos Harvin – Vice President
    Carlos Harvin is the Foundation’s Vice President. Mr. Harvin is the ScoutReach Executive at Evangeline Area Council, Boy Scouts of America and pastor of New Beginnings Christian Church in North Lafayette. He has been in ministry for over 20 years and has worked extensively in the field of Workforce Development and Prisoner Reentry in Washington, DC and Lafayette, Louisiana.
  • Karen Miller – Treasurer
    Karen Miller, CPA, is the Foundation’s Treasurer. Ms. Miller has her own accounting practice in Lafayette. Miller is a graduate of University of Louisiana at Lafayette and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Society of Louisiana CPAs.
  • Virginia Jones – Secretary
    Virginia Jones is a Trustee of the Foundation. Ms. Jones works in research at the Lafayette Economic Development Authority (LEDA) and is President of the Greater Southwest Louisiana Black Chamber and board member of the Holy Rosary Restoration Project.
  • Erica Williams – Trustee
  • Jeremy Howard-Trustee
  • Heather Blanchard, Trustee
  • Cooper Barnes, Trustee